Mini-Haul

 Happy Monday! Yes I know, that’s an oxymoron especially now that it’s one million degrees here in Washington and I work in a 100 year old building with no air conditioning. 

This past Sunday was the hottest day of the summer so far (is it technically summer? I don’t think so but it was hot AF) so my family and I decided to spend the day in the sweet, sweet air conditioned mall like good, red-blooded Americans. And of course no trip to the mall would be complete without a trip to Sephora. 

makeup

Now let me just say that I am on an extremely tight budget; being a social worker and a grad student really impacts my ability to spend money  like a spendthrift. I have a very small budget for buying incidentals just for myself but it is a thing I do. When my kids were really little and I was basically a stay-at-home-mom, I almost never spent money on myself and it bummed me out. But giving myself permission to spend small amounts of money on myself is an important part of my self-care. 

Now that that’s out of the way I am very excited to share what I hauled! Since all my liquid liners had basically given up on life, I was in dire need so I picked up Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in the color Trooper (which is a black). I considered getting an eye shadow palette to round out my collection but the average price was $46 and I was not looking to spend that kind of dough. But low and behold, the make-up gods answered my prayers! I found a set by Sephora (they have their own make-up line) that was three small pallets at a ridiculously affordable price. The palettes come with 18 eye shadows, 2 blushes, 2 bronzers, 4 lip glosses and 2 highlighters. The face products aren’t huge; the pans are all the same size, but there’s a huge amount of products in total for the price. 

me

I used the blue palette today, I think it’s called ‘Daily Chic’ to create a soft smoky brown eye look. The darker colors are super pigmented and easy to blend, the lighters ones really have to be built up but still pretty. The Tattoo Liner worked like a dream; glided on so smoothly and was super black. I am super excited to use to the other shadow shades; I probably won’t reach for the lip glosses and I’ll probably end up using the face products on my eyes. 

Leave a Reply

