Going the Distance: 7 Movies. 11 Hours. One Sitting.

Happy Wednesday, Friends! 

The nightmare heatwave has finally broken here and has been replaced with a little rain. I am not above complaining about rain, but after a long heat wave it’s nice to sit in my office with the window open, smelling the fresh rain instead of sweating like some kind of farm animal. 

BeFunky Collage

Michael and I have got big plans this weekend, friends. BIG PLANS. You know how some people run marathons, working for months or even years getting their bodies ready for a days worth of strenuous exercise? We’re doing something similar! Minus the training. Or the exercise. Or the being outside. 

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it in a blog post specifically, but Michael and I have created a list of 146 movies, a horror bucket list if you will, and we’re determined to watch every movie on it (which might be a challenge since it’s a running list…) A couple of weeks ago, Michael embarked on his own marathon to try and catch up with me. He watched seven movies from the master list (Goodnight Mommy, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween, Cabin Fever, and Saw). All in one sitting. I was inspired to join him on our quest to be the most well-watch horror fans in our group of friends (I have no delusions of grandeur; I know I’ll never be the most well-watched horror fan and I don’t care to be).

I wanted to make well curated list, with a good mix of sub-genres and gore levels. I only included one classic movie because we have plans to carry out this wacky plan a second time, with nothing but horror classics. I decided on the following movies:

  • Drag Me To Hell (2009, 1 hr 39 min)
  • Insidious Chapter 1 (2010, 1 hr 43 min)
  • Insidious Chapter 2 (2013, 1 hr 46 min)
  • The Wicker Man (1973, 1 hr 28 min)
  • High Tension (2003, 1 hr 31 min)
  • Ginger Snaps (2000, 1 hr 48 min)
  • The Devil’s Backbone (2001, 1 hr 46 min) 

I think this list is pretty well-balanced; we have some creepy ghost stories and supernatural horror with little to no gore, some camp, some foreign horror, a splatter fest, and a classic. All seven movies will take 11 hours and 41 minutes. Luckily my kids are with their dad this weekend so we have over 24 hours to complete this epic journey but are going to try and complete it all on Saturday, with one break in the middle to go to the Georgetown Oddmall

Wish us luck! 

One thought on “Going the Distance: 7 Movies. 11 Hours. One Sitting.

Leave a Reply

