J-Horror With a Creepy Bonus Short

Hey guy, 

I know it’s been awhile since my last post; I am elbow deep in finals, am dealing with some serious drama at work, and trying to navigate parenting with an ex I don’t see eye-to-eye with most of the time. There’s also many birthdays coming up in the next few weeks, including my son’s on June 30th, so I’ve also had “make birthday presents and cards for six million people” to my ever expanding to-do list. 

hqdefault

It’s been a minute since I’ve posted about horror so I figured I’d do just that today. Last week Michael and I were going over which horror movies we’re most excited about in the year 2016 and he mentioned ‘Sadako vs Kayako‘ and for some reason, I got it in my head that this movie was actually the upcoming ‘Rings’ movie and gave my poor boyfriend the wrong information. Luckily, these are two different movies (yay, double dose of j-horror/j-horror based movies!) Unfortunately, ‘Sadako vs Kayako’ does not yet have a US release date (it was released in Japan June 18th of this year) but Rings has a release date of October 28th, 2016. It’s pretty clear what I’ll be doing this Halloween! I’ll be keeping my eyes open for the American release of ‘Sadako vs Kayako’ since there is a lot of positive buzz for this film (see review linked above). 

conjuring3

In other news, I am across this short online based on the crooked man short from the Conjuring 2 (one of the monsters that freaked me tf out, probably more than the nun). I was pleased to find out the crooked man in the film was played by an actual actor, Javier Botet, the same actor who played Mama in the film of the same name as well as several other roles, including Rec. The short was excellent and creepy and I highly recommend everyone check it out!

Lastly, I want to announce I am changing the format a tad for the horror part of this blog; I really want to do a horror news round up of sorts. I am constantly seeing amazing things on my facebook feed that I want to talk about but that would be too short to dedicate an entire post to (such as the two nuggets above). Stay tuned!

One thought on “J-Horror With a Creepy Bonus Short

Leave a Reply

