Before the War Paint Goes On: My Skincare Routine

Holy cow, readers. It’s July. How in the world did that happen?! 

13619959_10102592275471578_4475580859705297907_n

In any case, I am playing around with my skincare routine and wanted to share what I am currently doing. I have very oily, acne prone skin that becomes an oil slick when the wrong products even look at it. I’ve woken up with a cluster of zits that appeared literally overnight. I have to be very careful what I put on my face. 

I’ve always used a face wash and moisturizer that’s specifically for acne. My mom is a huge consumer of Korean skincare and she bought me a fancy acne fighting kit that consisted of a wash, toner, moisturizer, and spot treater. This kit was expensive so I thought it would transform my skin into a beautiful, air-brushed dream. I never though a skincare routine specifically designed to fight acne would take me back to high school, when my skin was doing a great impression of a pizza. Sadly, that’s exactly what happened; I used the products for a few months, and in those months, my skin because a constellation of angry, red zits. And when I stopped using this stuff, it cleared immediately. 

So now, I have a very set routine with products I know won’t break me out (I am still working on finding the holy grail combination that will address my oil problem). 

First, to take off my makeup, I use Pond’s Cold Cream. It works amazing as a makeup remover and it adds an extra element of moisture. Then I use St. Ives Blemish Control exfoliating cleanser. This stuff has been my holy grail face wash for a couple of years. It clears up any break-outs (the rouge ones I get due to hormones) and prevents them from getting too gnarly. 

Then I slather my face with Clean and Clear moisturizer. This stuff makes my skin nice and soft and helps with the breakouts. The star of the show at the moment is my Clean and Clear Spot treatment. I put a dab of this on a pimple and it’s practically gone in the morning. Amazing. I’ve recently started using some eye cream (Garnier night time eye cream) and I’ve found it reduces puffiness. I’ll do a mud or black tea mask about once a week (right now I am experimenting with sheet masks). 

At some point, I want to start getting more products for my skin that will help with my oil production. It would be amazing to not look like I am sweating all day. Greasy is not a cute look. 

Leave a Reply

